A wrap up: 31 days in photos

Big Decisions

For the month of January I gave myself the goal to snap one picture per day and add it to my collection. It may sound like an easy goal, but I found it was rather tedious. If I were on a trip around the world, sure – taking a photo a day would be a breeze. But when in the doldrums of everyday life, trying to find a moment that stands out above the rest is a challenge. I had to humble myself to the idea that my life in photos may not be that exciting.

It was about 5 days in when I realized that rather than trying to find the most beautiful or spontaneous moment to my day and capturing it with my trust iPhone, I would have to find the stories in the smaller moments of my day. The photos became less about being a photo and more about how that place or object interacted with my life. Because let’s face it – no one care that I snapped a shot of name badges at an early event or of an empty Timber’s field… but perhaps they would resonate more with the story behind that photo – how I interact with those things and what they mean to me.

I know my meager photography skills won’t keep people coming back for more, but I also know that in days past, I’ll look back at this month and have 31 collections of photos to remind of just how beautiful or significant the mundane can be.

Leave a Reply

