Cleanse: Unofficially Kaput

Okay – so this one was a fail. I hope if any of you reading this attempted the cleanse you held out longer than I did. I failed for a couple of reasons – I didn’t like the recipes, there was a lot of prep time to prepare the dishes and my mentality was focused on what I couldn’t have versus what I could (which is why diets typically always fail). Combined with social outings and, more recently, a common cold that took me out for 5 days – I just didn’t have the motivation to keep on. The second week’s recipes had a lot of fish in them (something I don’t eat), so it was almost too easy to just ditch it. I much prefer the first cleanse I did (How Health Works) where the majority of the book are a variety of recipes that you can pick and choose from for the duration of the cleanse.

I will say, my friend who did the cleanse with me stuck it out far longer than I did and has had great results (8lbs lost, feeling great) – so it is for some people – just not for me. I am a huge fan of the food magazine Eating Well and recently made a tasty + cleanse friendly recipe that I thought I’d share here – it just an example of a recipe that includes all the allowed cleanse friendly foods but tastes delish.

SP8274_Scrivani

Quinoa Peanut Soup from Eating well

2 tps canola oil
3/4 c. chopped onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 c. sliced carrots
1 c. diced potato (I used sweet potato)
1/2 c. quinoa
4 c. vegetable broth
2 c. water
1/2 c. chopped red pepper
1/4 c. natural peanut butter
1 tbs chopped fresh parsely
1 tbs hot sauce (like Tabasco)
Salt & pepper to taste

1. Heat oil in large saucepan or soup pot over medium heat. Stir in onion & cook till softened (4-5min). Stir in garlic and cook 30 sec. Stir in carrots and potatoes and quinoa, then add broth and water. Bring to a boil over high heat.

2. Reduce heat to a simmer and cook until quinoa is cooked and veggies tender – approx 18 min. Stir in red pepper and cook for 3 more minutes. Stir in peanut butter until combined with the broth. Remove from heat, stir in parsley, hot sauce and S&P.

Serving size: ~ 1 cup, 143 calories per serving, 6 g fat, 18g carbohydrates, 0 g added sugar, 5 g protein, 3 g fiber, 365 g sodium. Vitamin A (67% daily value), Vitamin C (27% daily value)

One thought on “Cleanse: Unofficially Kaput

Leave a Reply

