jobs v jobs

There are a few things in life you are told you can count on. Death for one (not so looking forward to that one). Taxes (remains ever true today). Perhaps those are the only two things you can truly count on. Perhaps society has shifted so much that the generations caught in-between are now lost in the shuffle – not knowing what exactly to do since nothing is happening the way it was before.

I’m about to be out of work in about three weeks. The position I applied for was given to another candidate and the position I currently hold, I didn’t want to apply for nor did the managers think it was a good fit (because I was too qualified and would want to move on sooner than they would like). That has left me with the clear result that my time with this company is nearing it’s end. If I’m being honest, I didn’t push as much as I could of. The work they gave me was well within my capability but far from any sort of interest I have ever had. Databases, excel spreadsheets and data that pushes consumerism for energy efficiency (which is just backwards) destroys my spirit a little bit every 8-hour shift. So in fairness I didn’t really want to be doing this work, but I did acknowledge it was work in an otherwise difficult economy and I was willing to swallow the interest part for some stability. With that no longer the option, I am left to wonder where has this past year gotten me and where am I going to go from here?

In times like this I look for inspiration. I found this little gem the other day:

I think it hits the nail on the head. If you’re not happy then DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. Well… so alright then. Let’s make an effort to change something, anything that will lead to a different outcome. That’s where today I look to Steve Jobs. After is passing, there was a media frenzy over his commencement speech at Stanford. His three little life lessons – somehow they have more weight coming from someone who saw tremendous success in his lifetime.

1. You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something — your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever.

2. You’ve got to find what you love. So keep looking until you find it. Don’t settle.

3. Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish.

I think #2 is resonnating with me in particular right now. Find what I love. I thought I was searching for the last twelve months, but I also might have been ‘wasting it living’ someone else’s (or societies) expectations of what I <em>should</em> be doing. I’ve done a lot this past year to help develop my focus… and then when this job came around, everything got put on the back burner to cool down. It’s time to reheat it up, lite the flame and get this pot boiling again. I don’t know how but I hope to find a path that is true to myself and doing something that I can be passionate about. Or at the very least, have fun with.

Leave a Reply

